Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Review Archie TMNT

From August 1988 to October 1995 Archie comics published the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Adventures comic book series. This series is set in a separate universe from other TMNT stories. The initial storylines were close adaptations from the 1987 cartoon series. But soon enough Ryan Brown and Stephen Murphy diverged from the cartoon into unique story arcs. Some of these story arcs revolved around environmental issues. This series introduced a plethora of characters as well as using characters from the 1987 cartoon series.

A spectacular side series was created based on some of those 1987 cartoons characters. That series was called The Mighty Mutanimals and featured some great secondary characters. It is definitely worth picking up if you can find them.

The series had an incredible run at 72 issues plus a number of annuals, specials, and mini-series to help fill in the gaps. An in-house Archie gag comic was released only within Mirage Studios that had adult rated content. The comic has since leaked online. Another trade was released entitled Future Tense. It was released to coincide with a planned release of the storyline from Mirage entitled Forever War but this eventually was canceled.

IDW has been reprinting the classic Archie material, so be sure to visit your local comic shop to pick up a trade.

Learn more about Archie's Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Adventures at!

-Richie (@83rw)

No comments:

Post a Comment